April 18 (Thursday)

Alabama State Poets Laureate
< >

Open/Close All

Alabama is one of several states (including California, Connecticut, Georgia, Nebraska and South Carolina) with a state poets laureate designation, or something similar. In Alabama, poets laureate are chosen and given awards by the Alabama Writers’ Conclave.

Samuel Minturn Peck was the first Poet Laureate of Alabama, serving from 1930 until his death in 1938. Sue Walker became the tenth in 2002. Brief descriptions of all the state poets can be seen on the Alabama Department of Archives and History’s website, here.